Coffee stained mugs and good books

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

 

Reading has always been something I’ve enjoyed since I was a kid and this little hobby of mine has thankful stuck with me while growing up.

I love to read, however, for a book to grab my attention it has to be mind-blowing, page turning, wtf kinda good.

Needless to say, it takes a lot for me to successfully finish a book; but trust me when I love it, I will undoubtedly devour it within a few days.

So I’ve decided that instead of just clog up my Good Reads “to read” list, I’d share some of my recent finds that I hope to get ahold of and read this year.

If you have read any of these books, would like to, or have some suggestions – I’d love to hear them!

So here we go : 

(p.s: I’ve decided not to include the covers cuz’ we don’t judge books by their covers! ) 

Blog post 6.JPG

Bluelets

Author: Maggie Nelson 

This a book that I’ve recently stumbled upon, and actually heard it in a review by Orion Carloto! When she spoke about her experience reading this book, I was drawn by how amazing it sounded. 

“The book is essentially a lyrical, philosophical, and often explicit exploration of personal suffering and the limitations of vision and love, as refracted through the color blue”. – Good Reads.

For those who have experienced something like depression or depression, known someone with it, or is just curious – this might be of interest to you. I’m not entirely sure if it’s specific to depression, but I am aware that it has a central theme around inner thoughts, feelings and personal suffering. 

Being someone who has gone through a lot and has experienced depression and still does, this book sounds very interesting and i’m very excited to read it and see what happens. 

Memories 

Author: Lang Leav 

This book isn’t a novel, but a Poetry book. Lang Leav is an author that I’ve heard of before and I’ve also read snippets of her work before. However, I’ve never read a complete collection of hers. 

The book “Memories” is a collection of poems, which I believe to be focused on the theme of love. I’m not usually one for love poems because I find them a little difficult to relate to. However, reading snippets of the poems from this book, I’ve found myself enjoying them and I am hoping to try and get a copy of this book . 

One Day 

Author: David Nicholls 

I know that this is a very well known book and I believe that there is a film based on it too? However, I just haven’t gotten down to reading it yet. This book has just been one of those books that whenever i’m looking to buy a new book, I kind of just shrug off and say “next time” but no more! This year I am going to make it my mission to read this book. 

Good reads synopsis: 

” It’s 1988 and  Dexter Mayhew and Emma Morley have only just met on the night of their graduation. Tomorrow they must go their separate ways. But after only one day together, they cannot stop thinking about one another. 
Over twenty years, snapshots of that relationship are revealed on the same day—July 15th—of each year. Dex and Em face squabbles and fights, hopes and missed opportunities, laughter and tears. And as the true meaning of this one crucial day is revealed, they must come to grips with the nature of love and life itself.”

Inferno 

Author: Dan Brown 

This is a book that was recommended to me by a friend around three years ago and since then it’s been sitting on my book shelf collecting dust. This book has also recently been made into a film ( which I refuse to see until I read the book!) 

Dan Brown is a very well-known writer, and I have tried reading the Da Vinci Code, and as good as it was, I just didn’t fancy the amount of detail he went into and found that it dragged at times. However, I’m all for second chances and am going to give this book a chance this year. 

Good Reads synopsis: 

“In the heart of Italy, Harvard professor of symbology Robert Langdon is drawn into a harrowing world centered on one of history’s most enduring and mysterious literary masterpieces . . . Dante’s Inferno.

Against this backdrop, Langdon battles a chilling adversary and grapples with an ingenious riddle that pulls him into a landscape of classic art, secret passageways, and futuristic science. Drawing from Dante’s dark epic poem, Langdon races to find answers and decide whom to trust . . . before the world is irrevocably altered.”

A Thousand Nights 

Author: E.K Johnston 

I have to admit, when I saw this book ( a.k.a the cover) I fell in love with it, it was beyond beautiful! However, when I started reading the blurb I found myself very interested in the story line. And I will definitely be reading it sometime very soon. 

Good Reads synopsis: 

“Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not let her be next.

And so she is taken in her sister’s place, and she believes death will soon follow. Lo-Melkhiin’s court is a dangerous palace filled with pretty things: intricate statues with wretched eyes, exquisite threads to weave the most beautiful garments. She sees everything as if for the last time. But the first sun rises and sets, and she is not dead. Night after night, Lo-Melkhiin comes to her and listens to the stories she tells, and day after day she is awoken by the sunrise. Exploring the palace, she begins to unlock years of fear that have tormented and silenced a kingdom. Lo-Melkhiin was not always a cruel ruler. Something went wrong.

Far away, in their village, her sister is mourning. Through her pain, she calls upon the desert winds, conjuring a subtle unseen magic, and something besides death stirs the air.

Back at the palace, the words she speaks to Lo-Melkhiin every night are given a strange life of their own. Little things, at first: a dress from home, a vision of her sister. With each tale she spins, her power grows. Soon she dreams of bigger, more terrible magic: power enough to save a king, if she can put an end to the rule of a monster.” 

So there you have it! My current “to-read” list of books! 

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

3 thoughts on “Coffee stained mugs and good books

  1. Faz says:

    All of these books sound so interesting! I’ll be sure to check a few out! My all-time favourite book is The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon. It’s a story about stories & it’s a real page-turner. I read it once every year because it’s exciting every single time. It is part of a trilogy, but each book makes sense on its own too, which is the beauty of it. Zafon is a very compelling writer, I really recommend it!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

