Fake it till you make it – How personal style alludes confidence

If you’re anything like me, then confidence probably isn’t something that comes naturally, and is something that is constantly holding you back from doing certain things, speaking to certain people or taking certain opportunities. Low confidence becomes a burden that just seems to get in the way of everything I do, and constantly holds me back from seizing the moment, or allowing my voice to be heard.

I’ve been struggling with confidence issues for the last nine years or so – ( yes, funny enough I wasn’t always such a quiet and shy person) and I can honestly say that it has impacted every aspect of my life.

 

 

blogpic-gucci

What some people don’t know, is that low confidence can also ( In my case at least) affect how you see yourself, which then translates into how you treat yourself. I always thought that I deserved to be overlooked, or that my opinion wouldn’t really make much of a difference and so that’s how I lived my life, openly embracing  my non-existant level of confidence rather than trying to work around it.

This is where personal style comes in. Considering the fact that I couldn’t ( and still struggle) to voice my opinions verbally, or express myself by speaking  ( on any matter ) I decided to see if I could use my voice in a non-verbal way – the way I dressed.

I thought, that if I couldn’t physically speak about my personal identity and what interests me – I’d try to show it – needless to say it was the best decision I have made for myself.

I started to dress myself in ways that made me feel like I was worth it / or that made me feel empowered rather than insignificant, and through this, I started to find my own personal style – as opposed to just copying what everyone else did just to try to fit in.

Along with my style, slowly, but surely my confidence began to grow too, not massively but It started to improve, because when I wore clothes that made me feel good, everything about me – posture smile and attitude was uplifted too.

I found ( and still find) it mind-blowing how the choices I made to try and find a sense of identity that could help me with my problem, opened up opportunities for me that I otherwise wouldn’t have had the guts to find or take.

Now I’m not saying personal style solved my confidence issues – because it hasn’t, but it has helped me feel better about myself and improved my confidence.

If any of you have / or have shared the same experience, let me know , I’d love to hear about it !

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

 

14 thoughts on “Fake it till you make it – How personal style alludes confidence

  1. Faz says:

    This is such a wonderful little post! Your clothes are an extension to your being, it’s how to express yourself without saying a word. It’s what inspired me to work in fashion & I really hope your personal style helps you become the person you want to be!

    Like

    1. theaugustclause says:

      Thank you for taking the time to read it, I really appreciate it! xx Most definitely and I’m so glad that’s the inspiration behind your job, it really does make it so much more worthwhile. I’d love to work in the fashion industry too someday. ( You are pretty much my spirit animal at this rate,ha! ) Thanks for the thoughtful comment. xxx

      Like

  2. ali101love says:

    This is almost like an inverted version of my own recent experiences which i blogged about a few weeks ago.
    I think this post is absolutely beautiful, though. Mine is simply raw.
    I’ve lately been going through a dissipation of confidence and have found that it has affected the way i dress. Fashion tells a story, and my subconscious has been more willing to be honest about my current story than i’ve wanted to be.
    But it’s so beautiful to me to remember that it works both ways: How we feel can affect how we dress, and how we dress can affect how we feel. Both doing something to speak non-verbally. Fashion can speak of what is AND what can be. It can be brutally honest. It can be a motivator.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. theaugustclause says:

      How are you now? I hope everything is going okay 😦 x I would love to read your post – would you mind sending me a link to it? I appreciate and respect your comment so much – it takes a lot to be honest about situations in our lives that aren’t that great! But in all honesty, just take care of yourself – when you love yourself and understand that you too deserve to be treated with love and care the rest will fall into place on its own – just don’t give up, and try and stay as positive as you can, I know it’s easier said than done, but just don’t give up 🙂 ❤ xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Alissa Ackerman says:

        Thank you so much for your compassion! ❤
        It's been a process. I know it will take some time for me to get back to a fully secure place. Lots of questions i have running through my head about life that i can't, and won't, silence…and i need to be at peace with that. I've been slowly starting to feel better though, just with awareness of my current state and honesty about it.
        Thank you for your encouragement!
        I saw you already started following my blog, so i assume you already found the post (I haven't been posting very much!) – But here's the link: https://storybehindthecloth.wordpress.com/2017/02/04/ill-be-honest/

        Liked by 1 person

      2. theaugustclause says:

        I know exactly what you are going through, not too long ago I was in the same boat – So don’t feel like you’re alone, because I promise you, you aren’t! I know that you will get through what ever it is you are going through, and you are right, the more you make yourself aware of your state of mind, slowly it does get easier. ❤ If you need someone to talk to, please let me know, you can email me or dm me on social media – you aren't alone! ❤ x

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

