A list of six things I’ve worn

Man Repeller is a blog that I love – like really love – like it’s not normal, kinda love. So when I was casually stalking ( which is essentially just catching up – right?) this amazing site I read as a past time, I came across a post that I though was flippin’ brilliant. (If you want to know more about Man Repeller you can have a look at this post here)

It was called ” A list of 12 things I’ve worn” , now at first I just thought that it was the 12 most recent items of clothing that the writer had been wearing and decided to write about it – boy was I wrong, because it was so much more than that! ( you know me, always love a good story)

 

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetSo as I kept reading, I realised that it  was definitely not what I thought it was – instead, it was a personal style journey/ evolution – but that’s not what intrigued me. What really got me hooked ( to the point that I wanted to try out this post myself) was the way in which it was written :

It was a list of 12 items that the writer had  worn at some point/ occasion in her life, from a child , to a teen , to now and with each item came a beautiful written insert of the memory, which I just loved because it really helped me visualise the items mentioned.

Processed with VSCO with c1 presetSo this inspired me to try to do a similar post – because I’m 18 and don’t have that many amazing blog post worth style moments as yet ( which is why I’m doing six items and not 12) and instead of listing individual items for each point, I’m going to do a mixture between whole outfits and individual pieces. So here I am inviting you into some of the most questionable / embarrassing stages of my life – enjoy.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

  1. Baggy, oversized cotton shirt, rolled down over-the knee-socks and patent Leather ankle boots, aged four. Laughing and carefree, as someone tireless gave up on trying to put my trousers on, knowing that, that was a lost cause.
  1. Grey school trousers. Mum would make me wear them to school so that my “nice clothes” wouldn’t get worn out or damaged. I would try to get them as dirty as I possible could, all four of them in-fact. So that I could wear jeans and pretty, white and pink trainers instead. To my disappointment it didn’t work, and I was left  wearing those grey school trousers. Needless to say, it wasn’t accepted very well.
  1. A Bright yellow and white knee-length dress, religiously paired with a pair of black leggings. A Standard outfit for the entirety of 2007/08. I wore this to a school dance, and pretty much glowed the entire night, I even went as far as pairing it with a coordinating yellow necklace. I felt amazing, feeling like I had accomplished something, by pairing everything together. I didn’t care what others thought, I liked it and had the time of my life – or so I thought as a 1o year old.
  1. First pair of dark denim skinny jeans mum left for me as a surprise on my bed. These were the first pair of jeans to fit my ridiculously stick –like looking legs. A real life, Sisterhood of the Travelling Pants experience – sort of. The jeans that fit like a glove. Those jeans led me to instantly fall in love with the Grunge look, even though I couldn’t quite grasp the styling, and ended up looking completely un-coordinated.
  1. Mum’s/ sisters/ friends stuff, because for some reason, it’s always nicer when it’s not yours.
  1. The Navy Blue Blouse that I daringly picked up this year, the one  with the deep plunge neckline that showed my new black bralette. The blouse that I would occasionally pin-up for the days that I couldn’t be bothered to keep re-adjusting. It showed a more playful style, which was something new for me –  I quite liked it.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

18 years of clothes I might not have liked, tried to avoid wearing, tried to justify buying and may have worn so much it may as well have been a uniform. My style journey so far has definitely been one for the books, and I know that there will be plenty of growth in the next few years, alongside A LOT of embarrassing wardrobe malfunctions. So till then I hope you enjoyed!

If you would like to see the post that I based this off , you can here

Photography : Taaqiyah Sallie  

Model : Aalia Thokan 

Styling / Production : The August Clause

4 thoughts on “A list of six things I’ve worn

  1. ali101love says:

    I love reading stuff like this! ❤
    The clothes we've worn, whether we liked them or not, really can tell a story.
    It was fun reading through some of your story, and i look forward to browsing through more of your blog!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

