Thoughts on Chanel No 5

I might be a tad late to the bandwagon when it comes to Chanel No 5, but I just never really considered buying this perfume until recently , which I found a bit weird in all honesty, (Keep reading to find out why!)But I finally decided to go for it and try it out, and as far as valentines day goes -I think this suffices! so here are my thoughts on it…  chanel-o2

chanel-15

Chanel No5 has surely made its mark as an iconic fragrance, but for years I just never liked it’s scent ( any of then, oddly enough!) , and I just couldn’t understand why it was such a popular choice, but recently, I was out looking for a new fragrance to add to my collection, and I thought – “let’s just give No 5 another shot.” I honestly didn’t expect to like it, because I never have, but for some reason ( which I still can’t figure out why) I actually took a liking to one of them -The  ‘Eau De Parfum.’

chanel-11

chanel-o4

I don’t think this is for everyone, because it did take a few years of spritzing samples for me to actually get a full size, so this in no way a recommendation, but simply my thoughts on it!

With this perfume, for some reason I just feel so luxurious and put together and really feel like I have my sh*t together ( which doesn’t happen often! )  Maybe it’s just the power of Chanel ( Wouldn’t really know, this is my first Chanel anything) but yeah, it’s kind of addicting because of how amazing it makes you feel when you wear it – not to mention that it does smell really good, and it’s packaging is pretty much to die for ( I have a thing for nice packaging) so that was a major plus!

chanel-12

chanel-10

For those of you don’t know, the Eau De Parfum is quite a floral scent, but it’s not necessarily sweet, which come to think of it might be why I never liked it before. I usually do prefer more fruity / sweet scents,like Esteé Lauder’s Modern Muse in “Le Rouge” or the  Armani Si range ; but this addition of No5 has May Rose, Jasmine and Bourbon Vanilla leaf notes, which is probably why it’s not typically sweet.

Usually I’m not one that buys high-end things, but with perfumes I like to make a little exception, because it’s not something that runs out quite quickly and does last me quite sometime!

So yeah, this is definitely something I will be using quite often from now on ( because I have a tendency of using things till I’m sick of them! ) but I just don’t understand how I have never really fancied this scent (literally never) and all of a sudden I’m  loving it, I think it has something to do with age, but I’m not entirely sure! If you guys have had any similar experiences in this department I’d love to hear your thoughts!

If you would like to have a look at the Chanel No5 range, you can have a look here.

chanel-13

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Chanel No 5

  1. Emma says:

    I never liked the scent of the No 5 either, but I might be tempted to try it again one day hahah
    This parfume is so iconic, it makes me feel like I HAVE to wear it one day ! Lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

