cutting down without compromising

Moving abroad has taught me many things, it was somethings that was quite  challenging at first, and did come with a fair share of complication, so to sum it up quite simply  –  It was HARD. Leaving everything you know and have come to love, packing up all that you actually need and starting a knew life, is not as easy as it probably seems ( I figured that out the hard way! )

So after a week of living in London. I thought I’d share the one aspect of moving that probably shocked me the most- How much stuff I had vs. how much stuff I ended up taking.

Here’s a fun fact about me – I am a hoarder who literally cannot let go of anything! So you can imagine how long it took me to pack up my entire life into two suitcases! It was a strenuous process of packing and unpacking multiple times, clearing things out, giving things away, or allowing my sister to finally take. I can say that I probably repacked my suitcases about 7 times – it was a nightmare.


So this lovely, headache inducing, time consuming activity actually made me realise how much stuff I have in comparison to how much stuff I actually use / need.  So I thought I’d let you guys in on how I managed to cut down the size of my wardrobe to more than half of what is was, whilst still managing to create knew looks!

 

LAYERING!

This by far becomes your best friend! I am not usually one for layers ( probably because I use to live in a ridiculously hot country and that would not be very smart!) but in all it’s glory, if you layer different items of clothing you end up finding more combinations to wear what you already have. Layering has allowed me to re-wear clothes in so many different ways; and even though I say that I wasn’t a big fan of it when I was back home, doesn’t mean it can’t still work! If you choose the right type of clothing, you can probably get away with layering in hot weather too.

Staple Items

Instead of having your wardrobe consist of mainly seasonal items, try and introduce more staple items instead. When I mean staple, I mean timeless pieces that you can literally wear over and over again and you don’t get bored. Now do not get me wrong, I love keeping up with certain trends, I think it makes dressing up a lot more fun (It would be almost impossible for you to buy anything If you didn’t like trends, in all honesty! ) but staples can also be a great little life savour sometimes. I like to use my staple pieces, which do lean toward “basic” in terms of store ranges ( and mainly comprise of neutral colours) to either dress up or dress down my look – and it works perfectly with layering! Another perk with staples is that you can style it to fit your vision, as appose to the other way around, it just gives you a lot more room to play around.


Get rid of repetitive styles

Not long ago ( actually it’s still quite prominent) I had an obsession with stripes. Literally 70% of my tops were of some sort of a stripped pattern, it was actually ridiculous! Funny enough, all these tops, looked almost identical to one another, and I got rid of the whole lot, give or a take one or two.  So I’d say, that if you have more than three items that is pretty much  the exact same thing with a different label – get rid of it, I guarantee, you won’t miss it or even think about it again ( It’s your inner hoarding-ness telling you otherwise!)

If you haven’t worn it in the last 3 months, toss it.

Yes I was guilty of this one too. I will always try and find an excuse to hold onto clothes / bags /shoes. I probably haven’t worn the item in a year, but I would have this nagging voice in the back of my mind, repeatedly telling  me, ” better to have it and not need it, than to need it and not have it! ” – what rubbish that was! If you haven’t worn something ( I’m referring to more seasonal based items) in the last 3 months, it is likely you will not touch that item again. The fashion world changes so fast – literally one day something is in and the next it’s out – so rather get rid off it and create some room for fresher looks, that you will actually wear, rather than something that just collects dust!

So these are my main tips for reducing the size of your wardrobe without compromising your style! And I can  honestly say that I have used these and it has worked for me – so give it a go and see how you get on!  If you have any other tips, please let me know, I’d love to hear them!

 

4 thoughts on “cutting down without compromising

Leave a Reply

